Feed my sheep redux

Our church is participating in a new ministry called “Feed my sheep.”  We gather on the third Wednesday of each month and prepare 240+ sack lunches for distribution to the hungry in our community.  We have always been a very welcoming congregation but we have not always been good at outreach.  Feed My Sheep is a great way for us to get out in the community and show the love of Christ to those we have been commanded to love.  I could list many reasons (read excuses) why we (read I) are hesitant to go out to demonstrate and proclaim the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ.  I wonder if my list would be similar to yours.

I am reminded of a John Stott study where he tells of a homeless woman whom a parish priest promised to pray for as a brush-off, and who wrote the following poem:

I was hungry and you formed a humanities group to discuss my hunger
I was imprisoned and you crept off quietly to your chapel and prayed for my release
I was naked and in your mind you debated the morality of my appearance
I was sick and you knelt and thanked God for your health
I was homeless and you preached to me of the spiritual shelter of the love of your God
I was lonely and you left me alone to pray for me
You seem so holy, so close to God – but I am still very hungry and lonely and cold

Her words convict me every time.

Love your neighbor as yourself. – Mark 12:31

Do you love me? … Feed my sheep. – John 21:17

Blessings,

D.

Leave a Reply

