David’s Prayer

I wrote this song a few years ago during a very dark time of my life. I was feeling very far away from God and wondering if I was ever going to feel His love again. I was wondering if I even wanted to feel His love again, because I felt like He was leaving me in the mire.

I prayed to Him.

I yelled at Him.

I cried to Him.

I even cursed at Him.

He.

Did.

Not.

Answer.

One late Summer evening, sitting out on the back porch, ready to give up…hot tears began streaming down my face. I did not know why, but I couldn’t stop them. I began speaking the words to the song and realized I was given a prayer. Those hot tears were very cleansing. I began to feel a warmth and comfort that I have never felt before and may never feel again. But, I knew the Holy Spirit was washing over me. How do I know? I just know.

If you are in the mire and feeling that God has forsaken you…He hasn’t. I don’t know why He let me wallow in my own pity. I don’t know why He allowed me to go through that dark time, but He did. I think maybe He knew it would draw me closer to Him…make me trust Him more…make me love Him more. The last thing I was thinking about was loving Him. Yet all the while, He was loving me.

Don’t give up on God. Trust me. He hasn’t, and never will, give up on you. Nothing you have done, or will ever do, can separate you from the love of God.

Blessings,
D.

David’s Prayer
(c) 2001

Hot tears streaming down my face again
World’s knocked me to my knees
Lord, I want to feel your love again
Hold me Father, please

You touched my heart
Took my tears and cried them for me
Burn the darkness from my soul
So I can see your face
Lord, I pray I’ll be a man
Who trusts you on the road before me
I’m reaching out to hold your hand
and trust the man who died for me

In your presence Lord I must be still
I can’t do this on my own
Help me Jesus to accept your will
And sacrifice my own

You touched my heart
Took my tears and cried them for me
Burn the darkness from my soul
So I can see your face
Lord, I pray I’ll be a man
Who trusts you on the road before me
I’m reaching out to hold your hand
and trust the man who died for me

You touched my heart
Took my tears and cried them for me
Burn the darkness from my soul
So I can see your face
Lord, I pray I’ll be a man
Who trusts you on the road before me

Help me God to understand
How you love me as I am
I’m reaching out to hold your hand
And trust the man who died for me

I love the man who died for me…

(WordPress is charging for MP3 space now…send me an email if you’d like the MP3 of this song.)

2 thoughts on “David’s Prayer

  1. Scotti

    Such beautiful and wise words! I love the line “burn the darkness from my soul”. Trials by fire can seem to block our view of God until we look up to Him and away from our circumstance. These dark nights of the soul are gut-wrenching times but I do agree that once on the other side of them, we are stonger in our faith. So good to see you back blogging again! Thank you for sharing these heartfelt and personal words.
    Blessings,
    Scotti

    Reply
  2. David Post author

    Thank you, Scotti. I appreciate the comment coming from one so gifted. I sang that song for the first time as part of my talk for a three-day weekend called “Cursillo”. Don’t know if you are familiar with that, but basically it’s a 3-day course in Christian leadership. It couldn’t have come to me at a better time.

    Hope to be reading more of your poetry soon (hint, hint…) 😉

    Always a pleasure to hear from you.

    D.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

