Casting Stones

Nearly every day (work day, that is) a group of 5 to 7 guys gather down in our atrium for lunch. Most of the time it’s typical guy talk: sports, movies or just friendly banter. We’re all Christians and we share similar life and world views. However, lately I’ve noticed some of our conversation ends up being more like gossip and judgmental in nature. At one point it turned into a downright bashing of a former employee. Comments about how rude, disrespectful, and annoying Mark was. (Name changed to protect the innocent…) After a few minutes of this, someone, in a very poor imitation of Forest Gump, said, “Momma said if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.” Now, I don’t recall that being a quote from the movie, but it made a point. Turning to Forest, one of the Mark-bashers responded, “Tell me one positive attribute Mark has.” Forest thought for a moment and said, “He washes his hands before leaving the restroom.” Laughter filled the air.

Though I didn’t actively participate in the bashing, I didn’t do anything to turn the conversation either. So, I was just as guilty. Mark is certainly not the only one with faults. We ALL have them and I know that my faults could fill many a lunchtime bash or gossip-fest. I’m reminded of another old adage, “People who live in glass houses should not throw stones”.

Scripture is filled with instruction regarding gossip and unwholesome talk. Time for me to review those lessons.

Proverbs 26:20 – “Without wood a fire goes out; without gossip a quarrel dies down.”

Ephesians 4:29 – “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

3 thoughts on “Casting Stones

  1. Rachel

    Thanks for the post David. I make little Scripture books out of cheap, dollar store photo albums and I slip in index cards where the pictures are supposed to go. I write Scriptures on them and then I carry it around in my purse and read the whole thing every day. I have several of these and I make them according to what I am struggling with. I have a “mouth” book and it is filled with verses about the mouth and the harm it can cause. One day at church I was complaining about something and one of my friends looked at me and said, “mouth book.” It stopped me in my tracks and was funny at the the same time. I am pretty well known for these books and they have helped me to memorize Scripture as well.
    Glad to see you in bloggerland again.
    Be blessed!

    Reply
  2. David Post author

    Sounds like you put your foot in your “mouth book”! I do it all of the time…

    That’s a clever idea and could easily be a series of books for publishing.

    Thanks for the “welcome back”. We’ll see how it goes…

    Blessings,
    David.

    Reply
  3. faithwalk

    David!!!

    You are blogging again! Yea, and bless the Lord! 😀

    I’ve been so busy working I don’t make the rounds as often as I used to, but I’ll be checking in often now as you’re one of my favorite bloggers
    who feels “like an old friend. Er, I mean, long-time friend!
    😉 ” ( I couldn’t resist quoting you; hope you don’t mind! )

    My husband just looked over at me and said “what’s up honey? You were almost asleep over there and now you’re all bright eyed and smiling! ”

    I just read through all your recent posts and my night just got a whole lot better. See what a blessing you are?

    Now as for the casting stones and gossip, may the Lord help us all to be mindful and careful of both our words and our silence.
    Recently someone told a mutual friend I had said something I most assuredly did not. However like you, I didn’t refute what someone else was saying and they took my silence as agreement, when actually I was thinking they were way out of line.

    We live and learn by the grace of God and hopefully will not make the same mistakes twice. There is a gentle way to bring gossip to a halt; and “Forrest” was on the right track in the beginning it seems.

    You should here the way men talk at a car dealership…
    😦

    I love Rachel’s little books and think you are right on in saying there’s a series waiting to be published there!

    Blessings to you David and welcome back! I am sincerely glad to see you here again!

    Susan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

