A Thanksgiving

serenity.jpg My son recently became engaged. It seems like only yesterday that I was getting married. A blink of an eye and it is twenty-five years later. Still married to the love of my life, raised two wonderful children and at 47 I’m still in reasonably good shape. However, as I see where I have been and where I am now, I realize more every day that God has ordained only a certain number of days for me to serve Him on this earth. I’ve become more aware of how blessed I am to have been given those days. I am thankful. I have become more aware of how I use each day to honor Him…or not. I find myself being glad He does not keep score at the end of some of those days. Thank you, Lord for my life and all of the blessings you have given me and my family.

11 thoughts on “A Thanksgiving

  1. expreacherman

    Congratulations, David,,,

    Won’t be too long before you will be waiting for the delivery of your first great-grandchild… as am I.

    Time flies — we should redeem the time before the Lord..

    In Christ eternally,

    ExP(Jack)

    Reply
  2. David Post author

    Thanks, Jack. He is marrying a wonderful young lady. God is at the heart of their relationship.

    Congratulations to you on your great-grandchild! Hope you are still recovering well.

    Blessings, Jack.

    David.

    Reply
  3. IG

    Congrats David. I am so humbled by your grace and thankful for real guys like you who remind me to every day wear His armour, be thankful for our lives and mission, and be engageful through His eyes.

    I wish my dad would have been living to experience some of my milestones, like marriage and children and peacefulness in life. But, I know he’s aware, and I see your post as a picture of how he would’ve felt about me.

    Thanks for that bit. God bless.

    IG

    Reply
  4. totaltransformation

    “I realize more every day that God has ordained only a certain number of days for me to serve Him on this earth”

    I came to this realization at a very young age. About 17 or so. I joined the fire department content in knowing that I might die in that line of work. And to tell the truth I looked forward to the opportunity to risk my life to save another.

    Now that I am married, a father, and no longer a fireman my views have changed a bit.

    Reply
  5. David Post author

    IG – Wow, thanks for the kind words. I am humbled by them. I’m just trying to keep it real. Rock on!

    TT – Having a family does wonders for our perspective on things, eh?

    Reply
  6. timbob

    Greetings. Psalm 90:12 comes to mind here along with Ecclesiastes 8:8. Time is such a fleeting commodoty and we never know when our alloted days will be completed. I pray that we all would be mindful of this in an age when its so easy to be overcharged by things of no eternal value. Thanks for a much needed reminder.

    Have a blessed evening in Christ.

    timbob

    Reply
  7. blessed1

    Congrats to you and your family. What a wonderful thing it is to know that there are those out there, like you, who love the Lord and have a true heart for God. Thank you for continuing to express your faith and dedication to Christ. It’s inspiring!

    Reply
  8. faithwalk

    Congratulations to your son, his fiance and to your whole family. This truly is a joyous occaision!
    Your son is so blessed to have a father who loves the Lord and loves his family as you do.
    May your lives all be blessed, ever a reflection of Jesus love and grace.

    Glad to see you post again too! I was just coming over to ask how you were as its’ been a while since you have. 😉

    Blessings to you David!

    Susan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

