Peace. Be still…

peace_be_still.jpg Boy…this has been a tough few days for some folks near and dear to me. People I know personally as well as people I have come to know via this blog. I’ve heard phrases like,

“I don’t know what to pray.”…”Where is God in all of this?”…”I don’t know if I’ll get through this storm.”

One friend could only relay his feelings using a lyric,

“The space between the tears we cry is the laughter that keeps us coming back for more. — Dave Matthews.”

Like my friend above, I too find music is sometimes the only way to express what’s on my heart.

Sometimes He Calms the Storm
by Scott Krippayne

All who sail the sea of faith
Find out before too long
How quickly blue skies can grow dark
And gentle winds grow strong
Suddenly fear is like white water
Pounding on the soul
Still we sail on knowing
That our Lord is in control

Sometimes He calms the storm
With a whispered peace be still
He can settle any sea
But it doesn’t mean He will
Sometimes He holds us close
And lets the wind and waves go wild
Sometimes He calms the storm
And other times He calms His child

He has a reason for each trial
That we pass through in life
And though we’re shaken
We cannot be pulled apart from Christ
No matter how the driving rain beats down
On those who hold to faith
A heart of trust will always
Be a quiet peaceful place

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.”
— Romans 8:26-27

“He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Peace! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.”
— Mark 4:39


I pray that all who are suffering or facing storms will find the peace and comfort of God.

8 thoughts on “Peace. Be still…

  1. Kurt

    Sometimes that “space between” needs to be filled by words. Words with meaning. If we are not really listening…..

    We as believers need to take the lead. I mean we all have a life outside of “blogosphere”, but should it be any different? Mine actually isn’t. Tribulation abounds! I just need to be present & listening.

    Everytime Christ went through these types of pressures, and He did as you know, he sought “solitude”. After His “desert experience” He brought some or all of the disciples with Him to be “alone” with the Father. He was God and even He prayed “corporately”. Thanks for embellishing on this subject, in word, song, scripture & most importantly prayer. I too was at a loss this morning and could only reference someone elses words to emphasize my own.

    Much Love,

    Kurt

    Reply
  2. kevin bussey

    I can relate. But I always see where God was later. He was always there I just couldn’t see Him.

    Reply
  3. Aaron

    Thanks David. Your support, and that of our brothers at AC180 has been awesome. I can’t say enough. As I pulled into the hospital yesterday, I couldn’t help but think “Be Still”. If you’ve noted at all, those 2 words are hard for me to here. I can’t wait, I don’t like it to be quiet. But this isn’t about me. This is a journey that each of us are invited to join with our brother. I will need reminders to be still.

    I appreciate you brother. Thanks for posting and praying. God’s not silent….he is just busy upstream.

    Reply
  4. Phil Hoover-Chicago

    The blessed promise is that we will come “through.”

    I was talking with a long-time friend last night…He has faced “hell” over the last 3 years…He has lost his family, his home, and his confidence, and most of his ability as a minister….but he is coming “through.”

    As one of my favorite songs says, “It didn’t come to stay…it came to pass…”

    And yes, the Lord sees and hears us…even when we aren’t sure that He does.

    Reply
  5. faithwalk

    May Jesus be very near to all who are walking through dark valleys at this time; as there are so many we know.
    The Lord is faithful and even when we can’t see Him, He is always, always with us.

    I am praying…
    Blessings to you David, great joy and peace!

    Susan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

