Yadda, yadda, yadda…

I learned something recently that most of you may already know. You know the old saying, “Even a blind squirrel finds a nut every now and then.” Well, I found one. It all started with one my family’s greatest weaknesses, “Seinfeld”. With graduations behind us, I am blessed to have the whole family back together for a short while. Part of our ritual is to watch several episodes of Seinfeld. The episode that sparked this post is “The Yada Yada: Anti-Dentite” episode. Catch the clip below.

Okay, I said I learned something. Everyone has used the phrase “yadda, yadda, yadda” or has heard someone use it to mean “blah, blah, blah” or “so on and so forth”, etc. I got to wondering if the word “yadda” actually meant something. So, I did what any inquiring mind instinctively does. I sought knowledge from the all-knowing Google!

Lo AND behold, not only does it mean something, it’s scriptural. Y-A-D-A, connotates intimacy. It’s used in scripture to describe the intimacy between a husband and wife, also the kind of intimacy that God wants with us and that we can have with God and other relationships. Y-A-D-A-H (with an H) means “to sing, to give praise to God with extended hands”.

Now, if only I can find a scriptural reference to “badda-boom, badda-bing”…

I’ll let you know how that works out. 😉

9 thoughts on “Yadda, yadda, yadda…

  1. Stef

    Great bit of info, Dave. As far as looking for the scriptural reference for “badda-boom, badda-bing”, not sure about that one, but I think it is Greek for “Bad fireworks will leave a bad ringing in your ears”. Get it…

    Yeah, I know, don’t quit my day job!!

    Reply
  2. carol

    Wow what an interesting piece of information. It’s funny I never really say Yadda Yadda…. it’s always blah blah for me. Thanks for popping by and leaving your messages whilst I was holidaying.

    Reply
  3. Jan

    Dig deeper and you will find Yada, Yada, Yada is much older than Seinfeld and Co.

    Comedian Lenny Bruce used that term in the late 1950’s or 60’s and it’s an old Jewish expression from the 1940’s vaudeville days (maybe 20 years earlier?)

    It has roots that go back much farther, but Lenny Bruce popularized the saying in our current society.

    Study Jewish history, I suppose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

