Teach me.

gtrtchr.jpg I’ve been thinking about teaching guitar again. I taught for many years on the side, but life got busy and teaching guitar just didn’t fit in. Teaching people to play an instrument is like any form of teaching I suppose. It can be very frustrating, but it can also be very rewarding. There are two people I taught who, by most standards, should have just left their guitars in their cases.

One was a very dear friend of mine. We used to get together once a week and I would teach him any song he wanted to learn. He wanted to learn rock, so we played everything from AC/DC to Zeppelin. He couldn’t keep a beat to save his life. If he wanted to learn a song that was out of 4/4 time it was all over.

Another was a young boy who wanted to learn to finger pick. His goal was to learn “Dust in the Wind” by Kansas. Week after week he would struggle just to get a clear tone. I think we spent more time pulling his fingers out from under the strings than plucking them!

While it may sound like I’m raggin’ on these guys, I’m not. Teaching them was very rewarding to me. Why? Because they were hungry. They absolutely loved the guitar. They shared a passion of the instrument that I have. No matter what it took or how many times they had to start over, they kept after it. The look they had on their faces when they finally got it made it all worthwhile.

I took the long road to make my point, but if we are hungry enough for God and have a passion for him like He does for us, we will do whatever it takes to get it right. We keep trying. We keep practicing the lessons of our ultimate teacher.

4 thoughts on “Teach me.

  1. DulceDiana

    And God continues to spend “more time pulling his fingers out from under the strings than plucking them!” with us!

    I’m so thankful he hasn’t given up on me! Teach ME Lord!

    Reply
  2. David Post author

    TT – Maybe it’s time for a “Tonal” Transformation? (ahem…sorry…)

    DD – Amen to that! I get stuck a lot.

    Reply
  3. kevin bussey

    I’ve had to start playing again out of necessity. Our contemporary worship leader quit all of a sudden in January. I’ve been playing ever since.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

