For the record…

protools.jpg I should begin by saying the photo above is just a dream…it’s only a dream…(courtesy of ProTools)

This is for the gear-heads in the crowd. I’m starting over from scratch on my home studio. I’m looking for real world opinions, reviews, recommendations on recording rigs (PC-based or self contained), soundcards, software, near field monitors, the works. I’ll primarily be recording acoustic guitar at first, but will eventually add other instrumentation and vocals. Sonic quality is important, but I am looking for the most bang for the buck. Any advice or helpful links would be appreciated.

The floor is yours.

10 thoughts on “For the record…

  1. klampert

    ive got a lexicon omega, cubase, sonar, and reason. works pretty good, but I would buy one of those killer all in one recording stations from roland or a high end computer software.
    Pc or mac doesnt matter really.
    Go dual monitors 24 inch from dell. Go with a high end sound card for sure with midi and quarter inch and XLR…USB works but has some latency issues.
    I am a big fan of klipsce, yamaha, bose, and polk on monitors

    Reply
  2. divinescribble

    Holy Cats! I could never work in that space! It is way too organized and all the stuff is put away in it’s place! I need a little (no, a lot) of organized chaos around in order to function normally. Otherwise, I’d go bonkers.

    But, that’s no help to your question, is it?

    Coveting? No, that’s okay…since it is only a dream, right?

    Audrey

    Reply
  3. Grits n' Grace Post author

    Hi Audrey,
    Speaking for myself, I’ve never been in a studio that pristine. And I can assure you that I would be surrounded by organized chaos in mine!

    Reply
  4. Aaron

    You found out our secret!!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by the blog and commenting. Did you get my invite? If not, check your junk mail in case it went over there. I’d like to add you as an author if you would like to be a part of it as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

