What, me worry?

alfred.jpg Those of you familiar with “Mad Magazine” will recognize Alfred E. Newman and his famous quote, “What, me worry?” Though the question may be rhetorical to some, the answer for many of us is, “Yes!”

I would not consider myself a chronic worrier by any stretch. But, as happened last night, there are times I find myself waking up in the middle of the night with a worried mind; thinking about “stuff” with a million thoughts ricocheting and colliding in my mind. Many of those thoughts include events that will not likely occur, things that can wait until morning, or events of which I have no control.

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow. It empties today of its strength.” –Corrie Ten Boom

“Don’t borrow trouble.” –My mother-in-law

I don’t know if she coined it, but I’ll attribute the phrase to her anyway.

I wonder who coined the phrase, “to coin a phrase”? Hmm, another post perhaps…

Much has been written about the precious time eaten away by worry and the physical ill-effects it can have. There are many articles to read about all of that, so I will not rehash it here. However, I would like to list a few things about what God has to say about worry. So, if you have a worried mind, I pray these reminders will bring peace and comfort to you like they did me.

Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.
John 14:27

Casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.
1 Peter 5:7

Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me.
John 14:1

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-7

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body; and be thankful.
Colossians 3:15

And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:19

For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life? And why are you worried about clothing? Observe how the lilies of the field grow; they do not toil nor do they spin, yet I say to you that not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more clothe you? You of little faith! Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.
Matthew 6:25-34

For the mind set on the flesh is death, but the mind set on the Spirit is life and peace.
Romans 8:6

Those who love Your law have great peace, and nothing causes them to stumble.
Psalm 119:165

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the LORD, ‘My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!’
Psalm 91:1-2

In peace I will both lie down and sleep, For You alone, O LORD, make me to dwell in safety.
Psalm 4:8

When you lie down, you will not be afraid; When you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.
Proverbs 3:24

The steadfast of mind You will keep in perfect peace, Because he trusts in You.
Isaiah 26:3

God’s peace,
David.

9 thoughts on “What, me worry?

  1. blessed1

    I had a scare with my mom’s health today, and this post helped me put my mind at ease. Thank you for that much needed reminder. I watched a re-run of Home Extreme Makeover last week, where the father/husband died. They put a bench in the garden with one of his famous sayings on it: “There’s lots to think about…but nothing to worry about!”

    Hey just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Thinking Blogger Awards. Go to: http://wornoutwoman.blogspot.com/ to see my post on it and then post that award on your site, and list five others you’d award.

    Reply
  2. Scotti

    Wonderful reminder! Thank you for this much needed post. I love Philippians 4 and cling to that verse often. Someone told me once, if you know how to worry, then you know how to meditate. So, I have been trying to replace my worry with meditating on God’s Word. Easier said than done, right? At the very least, put a ‘Dear Jesus’ in front of the worries and turn them into prayer. Sometimes I find myself carrying on this little conversation in my mind when I worry about ‘those events that most likely won’t occur’ and just remind myself that it is not the Truth and that no matter what happens in the future, it happens according to God’s good purposes. Confronting the thoughts seems to help redirect my focus back onto the Lord Jesus.
    God Bless!
    Scotti

    Reply
  3. faithwalk

    David, this was exactly what I needed to read. Thank you. May we cast all of our cares on Christ, for He truly cares for us and is mindful of our every need and concern.
    I love the Corrie Ten Boom quote; Lord engrave that one in my mind!

    Bless you!

    Susan

    Reply
  4. Grits n' Grace Post author

    Blessed1 – Again, I am honored and touched that you have given me the award. I am now considering which 5 I will nominate. That’s going to be tough.

    Rindy – you are quite welcome. We all need this reminder of God’s peace in our lives.

    Scotti – Excellent! I love the idea of turning our worries into prayers. I’m going to put that into practice right away!

    Susan – my wife introduced me to Corrie’s writing. What a gift that woman has. We can always find peace in God’s word, indeed.

    Blessings.

    Reply
  5. JBS

    You wrote this almost 2 weeks ago – and I just discovered it today. I printed it out so that I can read those verses at night when I can’t sleep b/c I’m worrying about stuff I can’t fix at 3 AM anyway. 🙂

    Thanks again for compiling these verses all in one location.

    JBS

    Reply
  6. Colleen

    David,
    I was doing a search for Alfred E Newman as a cover for my Bible Study on the “sin” of worry when I found your writing here. You had some verses I hadn’t thought of and have decided to add to the study. Thank you.
    I marked you page so hopefully I’ll find my way back. I have a habit of finding really great URLs and then never finding my way back.
    Colleen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

