Amazing Love, indeed…

gethsemane_passion-christi_360.jpg Many thoughts always come to mind as we approach the most important season of Christianity. Even though the resurrection of Jesus is why we are who we are as Christians, Easter always causes me dig in and really try to comprehend the true magnitude of what Jesus Christ did for us.

I love my son with all of my heart and there is nothing I wouldn’t do for him and I know he feels the same way about me. BUT…if I said to him, “Son, you’re perfect and I couldn’t be more pleased with you. Now, you see all of those murderers, rapists and thieves over there? They deserve to die, but I want you to die in their place and take all of their bad stuff with you, so they can come live with me forever.” He would either think I was nuts or attempting some very sick humor. He would also probably be very hurt that I asked him to die instead of them. Of course, I could never comprehend making such a request of my son. And if I did, he’d surely refuse.

But that’s exactly what God asked of His son. And, of course, Jesus trusted Him and did as He asked. He was terrified in the garden as He prayed to God for another way, but remained obedient to His Father’s will. My humanity struggles with that because we don’t deserve it. And only by the gift of God’s grace do we receive it. “Humble” isn’t a big enough word for how that makes me feel. Especially, when I think about how He would have gone through all of that just for me…just for you.

The kind of love God has for Jesus and Jesus for him, is something we as humans just cannot comprehend. But, it’s exactly the kind of love He has for us! John 3:16 always comes to mind, but it’s because nothing really sums it up better. If He loves me THAT much, and I KNOW that, then why is it so hard for me to trust Him sometimes?

This song is a good way to wrap up this post.

You Are My King
(Amazing Love)
Billy James Foote

I’m forgiven because you were forsaken
I’m accepted, You were condemned
I’m alive and well
Your spirit is within me
Because you died and rose again

Amazing love, how can it be?
That you, my king, would die for me
Amazing love, I know it’s true
Its my joy to honor you
In all I do
I honor you

3 thoughts on “Amazing Love, indeed…

  1. heaintthroughwithmeyet

    Hello, what a beautiful post!
    I guess we are still in this world and therefore we do all kinds of things we know we shouldnt. We are not perfect yet, but we have to aim each and everyday anew to be like Christ.
    It is not easy, but He is always with us, and He will not leave us. He sees our heart and he knows where we at.

    In Christ
    Andrea
    ps…may I put you on my blogroll?

    Reply
  2. faithwalk

    Good Post; and I really like that song…
    His love is amazing, so undeserved and yet so freely given. I am ever so thankful for His mercy to me in all of my weakness and failings, still He draws, He loves, He asks us to surrender and yield to His work in our hearts.
    Sometimes it hurts, but it is always good.
    I am glad Jesus understands our weaknesses and His grace is sufficient for all our needs.

    Bless you!

    Susan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

