Pray for rain…

kid2_in_rain.jpg Though I have a real job, I’ve been a musician all of my life and like all musicians, I’ve hit periods of writer’s block. Sitting and staring and waiting for the melody, chords and lyrics to write themselves. Not too many years before this time, I had decided that I would only write music that would glorify God. Whether it be Praise and Worship, Contemporary, instrumental, regardless of style, I wanted to give it all to Him. Anyway, I had reached a point where I decided to stop writing for a while and just give it a rest. Several weeks went by and I had not even taken my guitar out of its case. In fact, writing was probably the last thing on my mind.

Then, one night I had a dream. I dreamed that Jesus and I were walking down a tree-lined dirt road and I had my guitar on my back. I was frustrated because I couldn’t tell Jesus how thankful I was and how much I loved Him. He stopped me and looked me straight in the eye and said, “Play for me.” I said, “Lord, what could I possibly play that would be worthy of You?” Jesus said, “Just play for me. Play me your laughter. Play me your pain. Feel my presence. Let me wash your feet again.” At that point, Jesus sat at my feet and waited for me to play. Here was my Lord and Savior sitting at my feet when I should be flat on my face at His!

I don’t recall much after that, but I wanted to go back to sleep and hear what I played for him! Bummer… But later that day, I felt like God was re-affirming a call AND He was giving me a chorus to a song. I still hit those dry spells. In fact, I’m in another creative drought right now. But I know that every day in the drought brings me one day closer to the rain. I just need to have faith.

If you are in a drought, whether it be creative, in your faith, relationships or whatever it may be, I’m praying for the rain of the Holy Spirit to pour over you.

Blessings,
David.

5 thoughts on “Pray for rain…

  1. Jason

    Hi !!

    I’m new to your blog and i like what you write! Just dropping to say hello!

    Every day in the drought brings us one day closer to the rain! So true!!

    Reply
  2. Grits n' Grace Post author

    Hi Jason,

    Thanks for your kind words. I’m pretty new to the blogging thing, but have really been blessed by the folks I’ve ‘met’ so far. Come back often.

    Blessings,
    David.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

