Onward through the fog

fog.jpgFog is normal this time of year in central Texas. It’s not usually thick enough to pose driving hazards and burns off pretty early. However, there are times when the fog is so thick that you can barely see the tail lights of the car in front of you, or worse yet, oncoming and crossing traffic.

Part of my daily drive into the grind requires me to come off of a lightly traveled 2-lane road and onto a 4-lane highway with lots of high speed traffic. The other morning the fog was so thick that I could not see the oncoming cars until they were right on top of me. Getting onto that road was going to be hazardous at best. I also knew that about a mile down this same road I would have to make a left turn across oncoming traffic and I wouldn’t be able to see them either. If only the fog would lift just enough to get me safely across the road. The decision of when to “go” would be a guess and when it felt right, I would close my eyes, take a deep breath, put the pedal to the metal and hope for the best!

I can think of many times in my life when I’ve done things because it seemed like the thing to do at the time. Not a lot of thought (or prayer for that matter) involved, but doing it because “it just felt right”. I can also think of many times that those Nike moments (“Just do it…”) resulted with less than favorable results. My human blinders prevented me from seeing the truth about the possible consequences of my actions. I think back when I was teaching my kids things like, “don’t touch that it will burn you”, “look both ways to make sure there are no cars”, “don’t put that in your mouth it will make you sick”, “if you need help, don’t be afraid to ask”. After a while, they begin to trust you and come to you for help or advice.

Just like the sun eventually burns away the fog allowing us to see the oncoming traffic making our journey safer, so will the Son shine His light on us allowing us to better discern His will for our lives and making our life journey safer. Pray for His guidance, ask His help for discernment and pray that He will pour His Holy Spirit over you and that His will for your life will be revealed.

Blessings,
David.

3 thoughts on “Onward through the fog

  1. timbob

    We’ve all done things like you mention. Stepping into situations without seeking the Lord first. Common sense; that which looks like the right thing to do in the physical can be the absolute wrong thing to do. We see through a glass darkly indeed. Thanks for a thought provoking post. Have a blessed day.
    timbob

    Reply

Leave a Reply

